12 Steps of Surye Namaskar

 Surye Namaskar is a sequence of 12 yoga poses which literally means Sun Salutation. Twelve yoga pose(asanas) of Surye Namaskar have very good advantage if it done properly in the morning specially in empty stomach. Yoga in the morning can be the key factor of being healthy and fit physically as well as mentally. Surye Namaskar have 12 difference yoga poses also knows as asanas, which should be done in the sequence, keeping in mind that the breathing process must be apply. Along with Surye Namaskar Steps breathing in and breathing out is also very important so it should be done properly. If you are searching for Surye Namaskar steps and how it should be done accordingly, this post might be very helpful to you .

The key health benefits of Surye Namaskar are to increase the immunity power,the best exercise for weight loss and for the stimulation of nervous system. Surye Namaskar yoga poses improves the overall health,body strength and relaxes the mind. Since 12 yoga poses of Surye Namaskar target different parts of body ,  it should be done more than 2 times for better results.

Surye Namaskar 12 Steps with guide to do it

Complete set of Suryenamaskar
Complete steps of Suryenamaskar  Source

Step 1. Pranamasana (Prayer pose)

Stand keeping your feet together and balance your weight equally on both the feet. Expand your chest and relax your shoulders. As you breathe in, lift both arms up from the sides, and as you exhale, bring your palms together in front of the chest in prayer position.

Step 2.  Hastauttanasana (Raised arms pose)

Breathing in, lift the arms up and back, keeping the biceps close to the ears. In this pose, the effort is to stretch the whole body up from the heels to the tips of the fingers.

Step 3. Hastapadasana (Standing forward bend)

Breathing out, bend forward from the waist keeping the spine erect. As you exhale completely, bring the hands down to the floor beside the feet.

Step 4. Ashwa Sanchalanasana (Equestrian pose)

Breathing in, push your right leg back, as far back as possible. Bring the right knee to the floor and look up.

Step 5. Dandasana (Stick pose)

As you breathe in, take the left leg back and bring the whole body in a straight line.

Step 6. Ashtanga Namaskara (Salute with eight parts or points)

Gently bring your knees down to the floor and exhale. Take the hips back slightly, slide forward, rest your chest and chin on the floor. Raise your posterior a little bit. The two hands, two feet, two knees, chest and chin (eight parts of the body) should touch the floor.

Step 7. Bhujangasana (Cobra pose)

Slide forward and raise the chest up into the Cobra pose. You may keep your elbows bent in this pose with the shoulders away from the ears. Look up at the ceiling.

Step 8. Adho Mukha Svanasana (Downward facing dog pose)

Breathing out, lift the hips and the tailbone up to bring the body into an inverted ‘V’ pose.

Step 9. Ashwa Sanchalanasana (Equestrian pose)

Breathing in, bring the right foot forward in between the two hands. The left knee goes down on the floor. Press the hips down and lookup.

Step 10. Hastapadasana (Standing forward bend)

Breathing out, bring the left foot forward. Keep the palms on the floor. You may bend the knees, if necessary.

Step 11. Hastauttanasana (Raised arms pose)

Breathing in, roll the spine up. Raise the hands up and bend backward a little bit, pushing the hips slightly outward.

Step 12. Tadasana (Mountain Pose)

As you exhale, first straighten the body, then bring the arms down. Relax in this position and observe the sensations in your body.

This completes one set of Surya Namaskar. Once done, you would’ve completed one round of Surya Namaskar.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.