Krittika Nakshatra in Vedic Astrology

Krittika Nakshatra - Krittika is the third Nakshatra in Vedic astrology ranging from 26.4 deg Aries (Mesha)  to 10 deg of Taurus (Vrishava). Krittika Nakshatra is the 3rd star in the Zodiac. The star is named after the Lord Karthikeya, Son of Lord Shiva. Lord Karthikeya is also the commander of God. Krittika was the six sisters who raised Lord Murugan and thus it came to be known as Kartikeya. Krittika is a very powerful Nakshatra as it shows the rising of the Sun. Krittika is also known as the "Star of Fire" and is related to a fighter, luster, glow of power, physical and creative force. Krittika Nakshatra is the birth star of Chandra.

Krittika Nakshatra Hindu mythology

It is said that there was a time when the demons were destroying the world and creating tremendous problems for all creatures, even the gods. To defeat them, the gods obtained the seed of Lord Shiva, which refers to his virility, energy, or power. When the gods got Shiva’s seed, it required special arrangements to preserve it. It had such a fiery quality that an ordinary receptacle or womb could not hold it. The seed was thus cast in fire and protected by water. The Krittikas were requested to nourish it in their womb. Karttikeya was thereby born and on the seventh day after his birth killed the mighty demon Taraka, and thereby relieved the gods from the demons.

Kritika Nakshatra

Characteristic of Kritika Nakshatra

Krittika means Flame. Agni is the presiding deity of this Nakshatra. This shows the tremendous potential that lies within this constellation. Fire is the creator of all beings be it living or non-living, tangible or intangible as it represents the energy required for the creation process. Due to its fiery nature, it is related to command, power, luster, glow, brilliance, etc. Krittika Nakshatra Agni or Fire is the god for sacrifice, which means it has the ability to burn up the negativity and purify things, a state which is attained after the fire sacrifices. The thing which needs to be sacrificed here is the ego and the negative side of self. It can bring the good qualities of human nature by transformation. So you have a spiritual side also. You will have the ability to see a problem from multiple perspectives- spiritual/philosophical or metaphysical on one hand and logical or practical on the other. The God of Fire has the power to provide enormous vitality, courage, and strength. But if this power is not utilized properly, the consequence can be devastating. But it is a Female Nakshatra and it needs positive influence from outside to function properly. So at times, you may need motivational external forces to get you going.

Zodiac Sign on Krittika Nakshatra

This Nakshatra covers two zodiac signs, Aries and Taurus, and hence the person born in this star will have a mixed influence of the aggressive Mars as well as the artistic Venus. Sun is the ruler of this star. As it falls under two Zodiac Signs, you will have the quality of hard-driving Aries as well as the cautious Taurus. You are fortunate that you will get this kind of flexibility. The first Pada (3deg 20 mint) falls under Aries and Sun & Mars dynamism is experienced here. The combined energies of two military planets make it harsh in its approach and functioning. It can ruthlessly conquer any enemy or obstacle that comes in its path. Leadership quality, thirst for power, and authority come naturally to them. 

Details of Krittika Nakshatra

Symbol of Krittika Nakshatra - The symbol of this Nakshatra is a knife or spear.

Astronomical Name - The astronomical name of this Nakshatra is the Pleiades.

Deity  - The deity of Krittika Nakshatra is Agni, the God of fire.

Ruling Planet - This Nakshatra is ruled by Kartikeya who is also known as Lord Murugan or Skanda.

Colour – White

Dasha Ruling Planet – Ravi or Sun

Gana – Rakshasa

Primary Motivation – Kama( Desire)

Animal – Female Sheep

Direction – North

Diety – Agni / Karttikeya

Activity – Active

Caste – Brahmana

Gender – Female

Nadi – Kapha

Nature – Sharp and Soft – Mixed

Quality – Rajasic

Tatwa – Bhu (Earth)

A body part – Hips and Loins /upper and back portion of the head

Gotra- Sage Angiras

Bird – Sparrow

Vedha – Vishaka

No comments

Powered by Blogger.